top of page
Search
  • criver46

Jerry Saltz: How to Be an Artist

In my experience. I have learned various different styles in the art community from hands-on to designing in a computer. In the beginning of this. I had fear on showing my work publicly because I feel embarrassed that my work isn't good enough. I kept constantly keep trying to make ideas even when I run out of it. This affected me harshly as I barely got a good finish worked done. The lesson that I feel like I'm on is Lesson 4: Art is Not About Understanding, or Mastery. I would keep wanting to put more and more effort into my work. I keep comparing mine to a professional artist, which has cause me some wasted time. Right now, I am going to make what I want to make and makes sure I don’t waste my time having second thoughts about my work and either redo it or make a new one and scratch this one out. The painting that is outstanding for me that I want to actually make is the Study After Velázquez’s Portrait of Pope Innocent X. The painting is strong with its black lines draw straight down and the pope looking like he’s losing his humanity. And not only that, the explanation seems direct to the point, something I would make mostly.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page